top of page

Reflection <3

Reflection


At the beginning of the course, I was nervous to take my first college English class. I have never loved English mostly because it was never my strong suit, and I was a stickler for my grades. On my first day, I thought I was going to hate comp 10803 and really struggle to succeed but taking this course has been the best thing for me. It has brought out a new comfortability and confidence in my writing. This was the 1st time I had an English teacher who made me enjoy writing. Doing short writes about topics that were interesting and just stopping in the middle of a sentence knowing my writing wasn’t going to be strictly graded began bringing out my creativity and within a couple of weeks transitioning into sharing stories and posting blog posts became less and less scary.

Throughout the semester, I have completed assignments that have increased my skills as not only an English student but just life skills. By taking this class, I have been able to develop critical thinking skills, the ability to write in multiple academic genres, develop effective strategies by learning from numerous mentor texts, develop rhetorical knowledge and become more confident as a writer. I have engaged in critical reading and interacting with my peers to revise and strengthen our skills as a writer. By completing my Wix website I’ve seen such a huge growth in how my stories started and the finished result.

Overall, this course was not the easiest for me. It took time and hard work to compile all aspects into my portfolio. However, I can confidently say I grew the most in this course. Before it, I would have never said I had fun writing a poem but writing where I’m from was so fun. The skills I have learned prepared me for not only my next 3 years at TCU, but for the rest of my life.

My reflection continues in this PowerPoint and addresses how I meet each component of the checklist as well as where to find each component :)

COMPchecklist
.pptx
Download PPTX • 46KB

bottom of page